Our Donors & Volunteers

Leadership Giving Donors
& Community Volunteers

Debbie Worch

2022 Klamath Country Volunteer of the Year


Debbie Worch was selected the 2022 Klamath Country Volunteer of the Year among 36 nominees. Debbie volunteers for many organizations and specializes in making hundreds of quilts for organizations like the Klamath Falls Gospel Mission, Klamath Behavioral Health, Project Linus and the Barn Quilt project.  Deb has served on the board of directors for the Butte Valley Rural Health Clinic for the past 40 years.  She served for the past 23 years on the Tulelake Area Service Club (six years as president).  She has volunteered for Klamath Hospice, the Merrill Blues Festival and the Potato Festival.

Everyone nominated received an award for their service and a special eight page tabloid honoring all the nominees was published in the Herald and News on April 22nd during national volunteer week.  View this special report and learn about their accomplishments on the publication section of this web site.

The finalists for the 2022 Klamath Country Volunteer of the Year included Bell Riley, Alexis McGonigle, Nathan Elwood, Jamie Mangan, Rhonda Nyseth, Lorna Lou Harris.  Other finalists included Sky Lakes Medical Center Volunteers, Henley High School Air Force JROTC, and the Bly Community Action Team. 

The Klamath Country Volunteer of the Year event is presented each year by the United Way of the Klamath Basin in financial partnership with The KMSB Foundation.  Our thanks also to the media judges who read and score all of the nominations each year:  Rob Siems, Basin Mediactive; Bob Wynne, Wynne Broadcasting; Joe Hudon, Herald and News; and Nancy Jarvis, KOTI-TV.

To view the 2022 Klamath Country Volunteers of Year Special Report go to publications page or click the following link

The Klamath Country Volunteer of the Year is selected
from the finalists within each of the five divisions.
(Youth, Adults, Seniors, Education and Public Safety/Public Service).

The 2023 Klamath Country Volunteer of the Year nomination entry forms are available by contacting the United Way at 541-882-5558 or visiting the office at 136 N. Third Street.  The deadline to submits nominations is April 3, 2023.  Everyone nominated will receive an award.  A special volunteer recognition luncheon will be held on April 18th from 12 noon to 1:30 p.m. at the Klamath Basin Senior Citizens’ Center to honor all nominees.

Nominate a Volunteer

United Way Leadership Giving KEY Club

Mike & Laila Griffith
2022 Key Club Chairpersons

The KEY Club is designed to recognize the extraordinary contribution by individuals to the United Way Community Campaign. In 2021, 108 members donated a total of $212,400 representing an average gift of $1,968. Sky Lakes Medical Center lead the way with 12 KEY Club donors and Klamath Falls Toyota had nine members. The following is a current roster of our 2021 members. While every gift is important, KEY Club gifts are vital to our overall success. The 2022 Leadership Giving KEY Club chairs are Mike & Laila Griffith.  Every gift matters and is greatly appreciated

Bronze KEY
(Gift of $1,000 to $1,499)
Cec Amuchastegui
Eric & Alison Andrews
Chris Armstrong
Janice Arnold
Tim & Kris Bailey
Vanessa Baumgart
Dan Bridgeman
Jeff Bullock
Leroy & Nora Cabral
George & Janice Calvert
Gene & Sharon Chappell
Ashley Couey
Levi Durighello
Anna Felder
Mel & Renée Ferguson
Erin Foley
Sheri Hargrave
Patricia E. Henderson
Molly & Lauren Jespersen
Marc Kane
Avis & Bruce Kielsmeier
Faith Koepke
Edward Kotz
Loren Lawrie
Carolyn Lotspeich
Allen & Leslie Lowe
Shirley Malaby
Amber McGirr
Steve Meng
John & Ann Novak
Lenora Reinhard
Elizabeth Rineer
Jeanette Rutherford
Joan Staunton
Rob & Jamie Siems
Jeffrey & Lindsay Smith
Simon Smith
Matt Snipes
Sid & Tamara Staunton
Ron & Sandy Steinbeck
Mitch & Tammy Stokes
Greg & Janet Thede
Brent Thomas
Bud Wakefield
Cheryl Westbrook
Michael Westbrook
Johyn & Donna Wetter
Dorothy L. Winters
Carolyn Woods
Fred & Merlaine Zwartverwer
*  Three anonymous donors
Silver Key
(Gift of $1,500 to $1,999)
Todd & Mindi Andres
James Baxter
Jessica Chastain
Mike Cheeseman
Annette Cole
Nicholas Ealy
Frank Ganong
Mike & Laila Griffith
Danette Mason
Mike & Donna Romtvedt
Rob & Jamie Siems
*Two anonymous donors
Gold Key
(Gift of $2,000 to $3,499)
Dr. Beverly Bauman
John & Kendall Bell
Marcella Bell
Timothy Boozer
Andy Brandsness
John & Nancy Dey
Nicholas Ealy
Gerald & Susan Freschi
Frank & Renee Hernandez
Christopher Hinklin
Tanner Krag
Dr. Raul & Karri Mirande
Chris & Linda Moudry
Drs. Nagi & Katuri Naganathan
Stan Neitling
Stuart Nelson
Kent & Linda Pederson
Tom Powley & Vonnie Powley
Lenora Reinhard
Erwin, Carol Ritter & Family
Tom & Sue Schiess
Jay Schindler & Ruth Olsen
Thomas J. & Barbara Shaw
Matt Snipes
Joan Staunton
Tim & Gloria Steiner
Barbara Thom
Anne Weaver
Nancy J. Wendt
Don & Mary Young
* Four anonymous donors
Platinum KEY
(Gift of $3,500 to $4,999)
Tim Boozer
Drew & Betsy Honzel
Rick & Susan Kreizenbeck
Dick & Chris Ledgerwood
Juan Maldonado
Don & Kwanda McDonald
Emerald KEY
(Gift of $5,000 to $ 7,499)
Dan & Ann Cavanaugh
Glenn & Ursula Gailis
Chris & Susan Kandra
Bill & John Walker
* One anonymous donor
Diamond KEY
(Gift of $7,500 to $9,999)
Matthew & Denise Howard
United Way of America
Alexis de Tocqueville Society
(Gift of $10,000 and above)


Corporate & Business Leadership Giving

2021 Community pillars brochure for web